anysia: (Dominatrix)
When Wing got home, we headed to Bunnings and picked up a 1981-2000 Coroma cistern valve gasket set. Don't get me wrong, my rigging worked perfectly, but it probably wouldn't have lasted as long as a proper set of gaskets/washers.

Dismantled the cistern valve, removed all the old rubber gaskets/washers, replaced them with new silicone ones, reassembled the valve, once again, forgetting to put the anchor collar on.

Turned the water on, and I had fountain! In my hurry to get the job done, I forgot Number 1 rule when replacing gaskets/washers:  turn the water on slowly to allow the water pressure to properly seat the gaskets. *sheepish grin* 

It's all working. But boy is my back stiff and sore from staying slouched over the cistern.

DYI Repairs

May. 1st, 2017 11:23 am
anysia: (No Whining)
The cistern of our on suite toilet kept running.

I typed in "Caroma Cistern Valve" in YouTube search bar, and watched.

I then, armed with grips, pliers and scissors (yes, scissors. Reason will become apparent) and took apart the cistern valve (removed float, arm, adjustedment screw, level, anchor collar). Lo and behold, the gasket on the threaded pipe was disintergrated, and the rubber washer on the valve stop was no longer 'springy' enough to lift the floatation arm to the shut off point.

Hmm, I didn't have any washers or gaskets handy, so this is where the scissors come in. I got a rubber band, the same thickness as what was left of the original gasket on the threaded pipe. Bevel cut, so the cut ends would rest against each other. Then I got waterproof bandaging tape, and cut about a 1cm piece. Folded it in half, so the sticky sides faced each other. Then cut it to the size of the rubber washer on the valve stop, tucked it over the original washer.

Reassembled valve. Replaced floatation arm. Turned the water on. Waited until the water got to the level line and adjusted the screw until the water stopped filling. And it stopped filling without continuously running. Then I noticed I forgot the anchor collar. I will put it back only if I see there is a problem without it. On a nifty aside, I probably saved the household $300 in parts and labor getting a plumber in here to do it.
anysia: (Dark Moon Goddess)
I was contacted by a CatMax representative. She said she was going to refund my credit card $400. Funny thing is I was overcharged $450.07.

Hello ********;

when you called today to get my credit card details, you said I was being refunded $400.

According to P*** C*****, I was overcharge $450.07. I hope there was no miscommunication between he and yourself about the amount to be refunded.



> On 2/06/2015 2:14:25 PM, p*** c***** (***********@catmax.com.au) wrote:
> > Hi Sandra
>
> yes you are correct on this being over charged. the problem is is should
> have just been a call out fee plus materials. but was done as a quote of
> pictures and spread sheet.
>
> so here is what you should have been charged
>
> 3 hours @ $76.00 = $228.00
> clearnet @$21.22
> cable ties@$12.00
> GST @ $26.12
> *TOTAL = $ 261.22*
>
> CHARGED $ 711.29
>
> Sandra, sorry about the mix up I do apologise. you have credit for $450 .
> if it is any conciliation we can send you a new three teer pethouse nomally
> $475.00 plus $75 freight. we would send as exchange no freight charge. no
> more to pay.


According to Australian Consumer Laws, as they admitted to overcharging me, and even by what amount, they are LEGALLY obligated to give me a refund of the full amount of the overcharge.
anysia: (Grrrrr)
CatMax keeps trying to get me to accept goods in place of giving me a refund for being overcharged.

We don't need or have the room for other items. We have cat towers (3), mini towers (2), scratch posts (2), hammocks (2)

What I don't have is the $400+ I was overcharged! I have put something off I wanted to get done because I did the responsible thing and had damaged property repaired. They need to pony up and do the responsible thing and give me my money back.
anysia: (Stick Dancer)
I got a response regarding the repair cost:

Hi Sandra

yes you are correct on this being over charged. the problem is is should
have just been a call out fee plus materials. but was done as a quote of
pictures and spread sheet.

so here is what you should have been charged

3 hours @ $76.00 = $228.00
clearnet @$21.22
cable ties@$12.00
GST @ $26.12
*TOTAL = $ 261.22*

CHARGED $ 711.29

Sandra, sorry about the mix up I do apologise. you have credit for $450 .
if it is any conciliation we can send you a new three teer pethouse nomally
$475.00 plus $75 freight. we would send as exchange no freight charge. no
more to pay


I have replied thus:

Thank you for seeing to this so quickly, it is very much appreciated. And so is the offer of the cat tower, but as we already have three cat towers, there is no room or need for a 4th. As this was charged to my credit card, I would prefer to have it refunded to that credit card. You have my credit card details there, but if you need them again, I will gladly provide them.
anysia: (Fcuk Logic)
CatMax got back to me, sort of, trying to make excuses for their exorbitant charges (remember, I thought the damanged mesh wall was being replaced, and a few holes patched)

> Please see a break down of the total price of the job that you requested
> totaling $ 711.29.
>
> Clearnet
>
> $ 21.22

This is the mesh I presume?

>
> Materials
>
> $ 195.41

What materials?

> Labour
>
> $ 380.00

$190 an hour??!!

>
> Freight
>
> $ 50.00

What freight? There is no freight on original CatMax enclosure.

>
> Gst
>
> $ 64.66

Had I known that we were only going to get holes patched, I would not have agreed to have to pre-pay the full $711. I was expecting full replacement of the damaged wall, not patching. I am looking
at the original order for the Enclosure. There was no freight, and there was a lot of materials, not just one square meter of mesh and a few cable ties. You did not send me the break down of the
charges, leaving me to presume the damaged mesh wall was going to be replaced. All you sent was your estimate, and bank details.

I did not expect to be charged over $700 for one square meter of mesh, a dozen cable ties, and 2 hours of work. I could have done that job myself.

Again, I do not feel that asking for a rebate is unreasonable.


I'm not going to hold my breath.
anysia: (Grrrrr)
Some rats attracted to our neighbors chicken coop invaded our cat enclosure. They chewed through it and it needed to be repaired.

I called Catmax, sent them photos, and was given a quote of $711.29 to repair the damage. Seeing as it cost us $2100 for the original installation, I thought it was fair because I thought they would be replacing the short side that had been rat chewed.

Now, don't me get wrong, the tradesman did a great job, but all he did was patch the holes with, using 1 sq meter of mesh and some small cable zip ties. It was what he was told that was to be done.

3hrs billable for over $700 for patched holes, when the last time the enclosure needed a bigger repair job (pergola being repaired caused a problem, Nigel fixed it) the bill was $200.

$711.29 for 3 billable hours? That is over $200 an hour! For 1 sq meter of mesh? Again, for that price, I expected the wall to be replaced, not just patched!

I have submitted a polite displeasure to CatMax and have said "I don't feel it's unreasonable to ask for a rebate."
anysia: (Demon-eyed Cat)
But not so glad I need it as often as I do.

It seems that most of the times I use it, is to repair piss poorly put stitched together items. Just got through finishing off the end of a zipper on a laundry bag, and stitching the zipper and fabric together. This is the 6th one repaired, and two I had to toss because the zipper head came off.

Now, I know these didn't cost a small fortune (only $6 for a pair) but if you get them, use them once or twice, then they fall apart, and you get more, the cost can add up quickly.

And it's not just laundry bags. I've had to re-seam shirts, dresses, 'delicate underthings'. Wear once, wash once, repair.

Woo hoo!

May. 10th, 2014 09:27 am
anysia: (F.O.A.D.)
I managed to get the Blu Ray player working! *does happy dance*. And I didn't have to cave into ' My Computer Mate's' blackmail.

Re-seated some plugs/pins. And that mofo would have charged me $110 for re-seating what he didn't plug in properly.
anysia: (Grrrrr)
Yesterday, I hired someone to come to the house to install/replace inverter board for my all in one computer monitor. He spoke as if he knew both where the board was, and how to fix it, and that it would only take one hour.

After dismantling the back of the computer, he couldn't find the inverter board. He checked online, and yes, the part I had was supposed to be the part for the Acer Aspire Z5761. but it wasn't anywhere to be found. So, he took my computer down to its component parts. No inverter board to be found anywhere. Only then does he look at a list of parts for the computer, a list that only professionals or tech stores can access. No inverter board for my Acer Aspire all in one, but there is in others.

He put my computer back together (I thought) but now, the monitor doesn't even 'try' to come on, and touch screen functions don't work, and the webcam is staring at the ceiling.



He made my computer worse than it was, and I paid for the fucking privilege.

According to their website, they guarantee the computer gets fixed, or you don't pay. I want a refund.

Detailed Bio

anysia: (Default)
anysia

July 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2 3 4 5 678
9 101112 1314 15
16 17 1819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 21st, 2017 08:34 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios